Kristen Bell Announced as First-Ever Host for 2018 SAG Awards

By
Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images

The 2018 SAG Awards will run a bit differently this year.

For the first time ever, the awards show will have a host -- Good Place star Kristen Bell!

"We are delighted to have Kristen Bell as the first-ever host of the SAG Awards," executive producer Kathy Connell said in a statement. "This has been a year in which assumptions have been challenged, stereotypes have been shattered and precedents have been broken. We decided to capture the cultural mood by casting aside one of our own traditions, and we're thrilled to have such a talented performer like Bell help us do so."

This will mark the 37-year-old actress' first time emceeing an awards show, though she does have some hosting experience under her belt, previously serving as a guest host on Jimmy Kimmel Live!

"I am honored to be part of the SAG Awards, and am a little nervous about being its first-ever host," Bell said. "I'm so glad that I'll be in the company of my fellow actors, many of whom I've worked with before, so I know they'll be warm and supportive. It's going to be an amazing night."

Bell also shared the exciting news via Twitter on Monday, writing, "Meet your host of the 24th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards on Sunday Jan 21, 2018. @SAGawards."

The SAG Awards air live on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 21 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. Nominations will be announced live on TNT, TBS, and sagawards.org on Wednesday, Dec. 13 at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT. 

 

Related Gallery