TV

'Saturday Night Live' Sets Spring Lineup, Chris Pine to Host for First Time

by Raphael Chestang 6:53 PM PDT, March 16, 2017
Photo: Getty Images

Saturday Night Live is closing out their record-setting 42nd season with four high-profile hosts.

The NBC sketch comedy show will welcome an alum on April 15 when Jimmy Fallon takes over hosting duties. After Fallon, Chris Pine will host for the first time on May 6 followed by Melissa McCarthy on May 13 and ending with Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson on May 20.

Making things even more exciting, SNL also revealed that the episodes will air live in all time zones.

"SNL -- enjoying its most popular season in two decades -- is part of the national conversation, and we thought it would be a great idea to broadcast to the West and Mountain time zones live at the same time it's being seen in the East and Central time zones," NBC Entertainment chairman Robert Greenblatt told Billboard this week. "That way, everyone is in on the joke at the same time. Kudos to Lorne Michaels, the producers and cast for making SNL one of the most relevant and anticipated shows in the zeitgeist."

READ: 'Weekend Update' With Colin Jost and Michael Che Given Summer Primetime Run on NBC!

The episodes will air at 9:30 p.m. MT and 8:30 p.m. PT. Eastern and Central times will remain unchanged (11:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 p.m. CT).

Musical guests for the last four episodes have yet to be announced.

SNL returns with an all-new episode on April 8 with host Louis C.K. and musical guest The Chainsmokers.

SHARE ON FACEBOOK SHARE SHARE ON TWITTER TWEET