From Emma Stone to Casey Affleck -- Who to Watch at the Palm Springs International Film Festival

This video is unavailable because we were unable to load a message from our sponsors.

If you are using ad-blocking software, please disable it and reload the page.

ET has everything you need to know about the event that kicks off awards season!

The 28th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (presented by Chopard and sponsored by Mercedes Benz and Entertainment Tonight) will be hosted by former ET host Mary Hart for the 14th consecutive year.

This year's honorees include Natalie Portman (Jackie) and Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea), who will both be honored with the Desert Palm Achievement Award. Meanwhile, Amy Adams (Arrival) will receive the Chairman's Award; Tom Hanks (Sully) will accept the Icon Award; Emma Stone and the cast of La La Land will take the Vanguard Award; the Rising Star Award will go to Ruth Negga (Loving); Nicole Kidman (Lion) will take home the International Star Award; the Ensemble Performance Award will be handed to Taraji P. Henson and the cast of Hidden Figures; and Annette Bening will accept the Career Achievement Award.

The PSIFF is known to be an early predictor for the Oscars and showcases Academy Award hopefuls. Past honorees such as Lupita Nyong'o, Alicia Vikander, Brie Larson, Matthew McConaughey, Eddie Redmayne, Jennifer Hudson and Sean Penn are just some of those who went on to Oscar glory after getting kudos at PSIFF.

The PSIFF will take place Jan. 2-16, 2017, with the awards gala happening on Jan. 2.