Selena to Receive Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame 22 Years After Her Death

Getty Images

Singer Selena Quintanilla will finally have a star on the Walk of Fame next year. The news was announced on Tuesday by the Walk of Fame Selection Committee of the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce, which revealed its Class of 2017.

Selena was only 23 years old when she was shot and killed by her friend and employee, Yolanda Saldívar, in 1995. Saldívar had been accused of embezzling money from Selena's fan club.

The youngest child of the Quintanilla family, Selena skyrocketed to the top of the Tejano charts in the 1990s and was best known for her songs "Como la Flor," "Bidi Bidi Bom Bom," and "Dreaming of You." She won a Grammy for Best Mexican-American Album in 1993.

NEWS:Why Prince Doesn't Have a Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame

Selena was about to make her English-language crossover before her life was cut short.

"Myself and my family are very excited about it," Suzette Quintanilla Arriaga, Selena's sister and band drummer, told the Corpus Christi Caller Times. "We're honored that people are still remembering her 21 years [after her death]."

Many fans of Selena took to social media to express their excitement -- some even asking, 'What took so long?' The Quintanilla family shared the exciting news on Selena's Facebook page. 

RELATED: Inside Mariah Carey's Walk of Fame Celebration

"The Walk of Fame Selection Committee is thrilled to announce our newest honorees to the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The Committee looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected a great group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world," Television Producer and Walk of Famer Vin Di Bona said in a statement.

Dates have not yet been scheduled for next year's ceremonies.

Here is a list of The Hollywood Walk of Fame Class of 2017:

In the category of Motion Pictures:

Amy Adams, Jason Bateman, Goldie Hawn, Dwayne Johnson, Chris Pratt, Brett Ratner, Ryan Reynolds, George A. Romero, Mark Ruffalo and Rita Wilson

In the category of Television:

Tyra Banks, Andre Braugher, Ken Corday, Lee Daniels, Hugh Laurie, Eva Longoria, Wolfgang Puck, Keri Russell, Haim Saban, George Segal, Sarah Silverman and Jeffrey Tambor

In the category of Recording:

Clarence Avant, Jerry Goldsmith (posthumous), Hall & Oates, Ice Cube, John Legend, *NSYNC, New Edition and Selena Quintanilla (posthumous)

In the category of Radio:

Elvis Duran
Criss Angel, Jeff Dunham and Gustavo Dudamel