Stephen Colbert Delivers Emotional Monologue Following Paris Attacks

by Desiree Murphy 11:11 AM PST, November 14, 2015
Photo: Getty Images

In wake of the deadly city-wide terrorist attacks in Paris, France, Stephen Colbert ended his Late Show on Friday with an emotional speech about the heartbreaking events that have shaken up the world.

On the late night talk show, Colbert explained to viewers that he and his production team were in the middle of filming when news broke.

NEWS: Eagles of Death Metal Nix Tour Following Paris Tragedy

"Folks, we end tonight's show with a heavy heart because we taped all of tonight's show and then we found out about the horrific attacks in Paris today," Colbert told his audience. "I know that not much is known right now. We do know there have been many deaths."

"The price is still ongoing. President Hollande has declared a state of emergency and President Obama has promised the United States will do whatever it takes to bring those terrorists to justice," he added.

Still in shock, Colbert ended the monologue, seemingly speechless.

"We add our thoughts and prayers to everyone in Paris and now, um, we'll see you on Mondayโ€ฆ," he said, followed by a big sigh. "Goodnight."

Watch below.

NEWS: Foo Fighters Cancel Remainder of European Tour in Wake of Paris Attacks

Upon hearing the news, a number of bands and artists cancelled or postponed their scheduled shows, including U2, Foo Fighters, Simple Plan, Coldplay and Eagles of Death Metal.

Celebrities all over the world have taken to social media to express their thoughts and show their support for the French capital, many whom have posted photos of artist Jean Jullien's Eiffel Tower peace sign drawing that has since gone viral following the attacks.


A photo posted by Kobe Bryant (@kobebryant) on

key word: world.

A photo posted by Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid) on

My love prayers and thoughts are with the families of this horrible tragedy. #prayforparis

A photo posted by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) on


A photo posted by Nick Young (@swaggyp1) on


A photo posted by Puff Daddy (@iamdiddy) on


A photo posted by Miranda Lambert (@mirandalambert) on


A photo posted by Jason (@jasonderulo) on

We must refuse to let fear lead the way. #PrayForParis #Imagine

A photo posted by Theo Rossi (@theorossi) on

Just heard the horrible news. Devastated by another senseless tragedy ...

A photo posted by Shay Mitchell (@shaym) on


A photo posted by Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) on

#paris I love you. My heart and thoughts are with those who are suffering this unspeakable, irreversible and senseless loss.

A photo posted by Troian ellisario (@sleepinthegardn) on

Praying For Paris ๐Ÿ’”

A photo posted by Ciara (@ciara) on

As ET previously reported, the President of France declared a state of emergency on Friday after a series of shootings and explosions began at multiple sites throughout the city, including the Stade de France and Bataclan concert hall. More than 100 people were killed at the Bataclan venue, where an Eagles of Death Metal show was taking place.