Aussies See 'Silver Linings' at 2nd Annual Kudos


The cast and filmmakers of Silver Linings Playbook alongside Quentin Tarantino were among the big winners at The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts 2nd AACTA International Awards, with Russell Crowe acting as master of ceremonies for the trophy handout event.

Pics: See the SAG Awards Winners

The AACTA International Awards named Silver Linings Playbook as Best Film (with trophies going to producers Donna Gigliotti, Bruce Cohen and Jonathan Gordon), Best Direction (for David O. Russell) and Best Lead Actress (for Jennifer Lawrence). Two discretionary AACTA International Awards also went to Silver Linings supporting players Robert De Niro and Jacki Weaver.

"I've slept in the same bed as Robert De Niro," joked a grateful Weaver, while a happy De Niro countered, "I did the same with Jacki."

Tarantino picked up the Best Screenplay award for Django Unchained, and he mused, "I take pride in the fact that I am the man that coined the term Oz-ploitation. I came up with that with my own little brain!"

The AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor went to Daniel Day-Lewis for his performance in Lincoln. He was not in attendance.

Video: Silver Linings Playbook's Road to the Oscars

Of the event, AACTA President Geoffrey Rush said, "The AACTA International Awards are Australia's international stamp of screen success. They recognize our international counterparts, add an Australian voice to international Academy discussion, and celebrate our fellow Australians working internationally. I’m delighted that this, our second Awards season in the U.S. through the new Australian Academy, has continued the success of our launch a year ago, and I thank our American peers for embracing Australia’s AACTA Awards so enthusiastically."