2017 Independent Spirit Awards: The Complete Winners List

Getty Images

The 32nd annual Independent Spirit Awards, sponsored by Perrier-Jouët, kicked off Saturday at the Santa Monica Pier in California, honoring the best independent films of 2016.

Oscar contenders like Manchester by the Sea and Moonlight are both nominated for awards, alongside smaller films like American Honey and Chronic, making Saturday's awards ceremony truly anyone's game.

RELATED: Final Oscars Predictions 2017: Here's Who Should Win and Who Will Win the Biggest Awards!

Check back for updates to see who wins big.

Best Feature

American Honey
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

Andrea Arnold –American Honey
Barry Jenkins –Moonlight
Pablo Larraín –Jackie
Jeff Nichols –Loving
Kelly Reichardt –Certain Women

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck –Manchester by the Sea
David Harewood –Free in Deed
Viggo Mortensen –Captain Fantastic
Jesse Plemons –Other People
Tim Roth –Chronic

Best Female Lead

Annette Bening –20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert –Elle
Sasha Lane –American Honey
Ruth Negga –Loving
Natalie Portman –Jackie

Best Supporting Male

Ben Foster –Hell or High Water

Ralph Fiennes –A Bigger Splash
 Lucas Hedges –Manchester by the Sea
 Shia LaBeouf –American Honey
 Craig Robinson –Morris from America

Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley –Free in Deed
Paulina García –Little Men
Lily Gladstone –Certain Women
Riley Keough –American Honey
Molly Shannon –Other People

Best Screenplay

Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney –Moonlight
Mike Mills –20th Century Women
Taylor Sheridan –Hell or High Water
Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias –Little Men
Kenneth Lonergan –Manchester by the Sea

Best First Screenplay

Robert Eggers –The Witch
Chris Kelly –Other People
Adam Mansbach –Barry
Stella Meghie –Jean of the Joneses
Craig Shilowich –Christine

Best First Feature

The Witch
The Childhood of a Leader
The Fits
Other People
Swiss Army Man

Best Documentary Feature

O.J.: Made in America
I Am Not Your Negro
Under the Sun

Best Cinematography

James Laxton –Moonlight
Ava Berkofsky –Free in Deed
Lol Crawley –The Childhood of a Leader
Zach Kuperstein –The Eyes of My Mother
Robbie Ryan –American Honey

Best Editing

Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders –Moonlight
Matthew Hannam –Swiss Army Man
Jennifer Lame –Manchester by the Sea
Jake Roberts –Hell or High Water
Sebastián Sepúlveda –Jackie

Best International Film

Toni Erdmann (Germany/Romania)
Aquarius (Brazil)
Chevalier (Greece)
My Golden Days (France)
Under the Shadow (Iran/UK)

Robert Altman Award


John Cassavetes Award

Spa Night
Free in Deed
Hunter Gatherer

Piaget Producers Award

Jordana Mollick – Hello, My Name Is Doris

Lisa Kjerulff – The Fits
Melody C. Roscher and Craig Shilowich – Christine
Truer than Fiction Award

Nanfu Wang – Hooligan Sparrow
Kristi Jacobson – Solitary
Sara Jordenö – Kiki
Acura Someone to Watch Award

Anna Rose Holmer – The Fits
Andrew Ahn – Spa Night
Claire Carré – Embers
Ingrid Jungermann – Women Who Kill

WATCH: Why the 2017 Oscars Are the Most Diverse Ever