Matt, Melissa and 174 More Invited to Join Academy

Getty Images

Matt, Melissa and 174 More Invited to Join Academy

Melissa McCarthy and Matthew McConaughey are just two of 176 actors, directors, writers, producers and craftspeople invited to join The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' roster of members. Read on to see who else got invited!

Video: The 'Magic Mike' Wardrobe Malfunction?

Of the actors invited, The Artist co-stars Jean Dujardin and Bérénice Bejo are among those on the list, plus Jonah Hill, Octavia Spencer, Simon Baker, Sean Bean, Tom Berenger, Jessica Chastain, Bryan Cranston, Richard E. Grant, Diego Luna, Janet McTeer, S. Epatha Merkerson, Sam Rockwell, Andy Serkis, Nia Vardalos, Kerry Washington, Michelle Yeoh and more.

Others include The Artist writer-director Michel Hazanavicius, director Terrence Malick (The Tree of Life), writer-producer Grant Heslov (The Ides of March, Good Night, and Good Luck), Stephen King and Kristen Wiig.

Video: Melissa McCarthy Q&A: 'I Feel So Lucky'

Artists and executives who are invited to join in 2012 have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.