J.Lo and 275 More Invited to Join Academy

Getty Images

Jennifer Lopez, Jason Bateman, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Lucy Liu are among the 276 actors, directors, writers, producers and craftspeople invited to join The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' roster of members, a group that is 100 stronger than last year's number of inductees thanks to the removal of a long-lasting cap on the number of new members allowed to join and vote on the Oscars each year.

PICS: Inside the 'Vanity Fair' Oscar Party

Of the actors invited, Jason Schwartzman, Michael Peña, Milla Jovovich and Rosario Dawson are among those who are new on the list, plus Emily Mortimer, Danny Trejo, Chris Tucker, Sandra Oh, Rebecca Hall, Charles Grodin, Lance Henriksen and more.

Others include The Heat and Bridesmaids director Paul Feig, Twilight director Catherine Hardwicke and The Hangover helmer Todd Phillips; The Simpsons mastermind Matt Groening and music icon Prince (whose big-screen contributions include Purple Rain and Happy Feet)!

"These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today," says Academy President Hawk Koch. "Their talent and creativity have captured the imagination of audiences worldwide, and I am proud to welcome each of them to the Academy."

Related: ET's Complete Oscars Coverage

Artists and executives who are invited to join in 2013 have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures and will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception in September.