Rihanna & Nicki Minaj Top List of AMA Noms

Getty Images

Christina Aguilera announced this year's American Music Award nominations on Tuesday and the leading artists were Nicki Minaj and Rihanna -- both earning four individual nominations.

Following with three nominations each were Justin Bieber, Drake, Maroon 5, One Direction and Usher. Among the stars getting two nominations were Carrie Underwood, Katy Perry, Chris Brown, Gotye, Kelly Clarkson and Pitbull.

VIDEO: The AMAs Prep for One Rockin' Night

This year also marked the creation of the new Electronic Dance Music Category, with nominations going to David Guetta, Calvin Harris, and Skrillex.

It was also announced Tuesday that Aguilera will be performing on this year's show -- which airs Sunday, November 18 on ABC, live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE. Other performers and presenters are to be announced in the coming weeks. 

PICS: Fierce Fashions: The 2011 AMA Red Carpet

For the sixth year in a row, fans can determine AMA winners by voting here, or going to the new Coca-Cola AMA voting website.

VIDEO: The 2011 AMAs: Backstage & On the Red Carpet