They're Back! 'Star Wars: Episode VII' Cast Officially Announced


The official cast announcement for Star Wars: Episode VII, directed by J.J. Abrams, has finally been released, and all your favorites are back! Read on to see which original trilogy stars are returning, and which new faces will join the legendary movie series.

Related Video: Did Sam Jackson Crash the Star Wars VII Auditions?

Accompanying a photo of the cast meeting with Abrams, released the statement, "The Star Wars team is thrilled to announce the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. Actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars of the saga, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker in the new film."

The statement continues: "Director J.J. Abrams says, 'We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud.'"

Star Wars: Episode VII
is being directed by Abrams from a screenplay by Lawrence Kasdan and Abrams, produced by Kathleen Kennedy, Abrams, and Bryan Burk, with composer John Williams also returniung.

Related: Confirmed: R2-D2 to be in New 'Star Wars' 

The still untitled Star Wars: Episode VII is scheduled to hit theaters Dec. 18, 2015.

Related Gallery