Prince's Estate to Release New ‘Originals’ Album Featuring 14 Previously Unreleased Songs

Entertainment Tonight

In honor of Prince's birthday, the late singer's estate is gifting fans with some new music.

It was revealed on Wednesday that a brand new album will soon be hitting stores, just over three years after his death.

The musician's estate, in partnership with Tidal and Warner Bros. Records, will be releasing Originals, an album made up of Prince's recordings of songs he wrote and gave to other artists to turn into hits.

According to a press release announcing the new music, Originals will feature 15 tracks including "14 previously unreleased recordings that illuminate the vital, behind-the-scenes role Prince played in other artists’ careers."

The album will feature Prince's versions of "Sex Shooter," originally recorded and released by Apollonia 6 in 1984, "Jungle Love," originally released by The Time for their 1984 album Ice Cream Castle, "Manic Monday," originally released by The Bangles on their 1985 album Different Light, and "Noon Rendezvous," recorded by Sheila E. and released on her album The Glamorous Life in 1984.

Check out the full track list below:

Prince, 'Originals'
Warner Bros. Records

Track No.  -- Title -- Original Artist   
1. "Sex Shooter" -- Apollonia 6, Apollonia 6 (1984)
2. "Jungle Love" -- The Time, Ice Cream Castle (1984)
3. "Manic Monday" -- The Bangles, Different Light (1985)
4. "Noon Rendezvous" -- Sheila E., The Glamorous Life (1984)
5. "Make-Up" -- Vanity 6, Vanity 6 (1982)
6. "100 MPH" -- Mazarati, Mazarati (1986)
7. "You’re My Love" -- Kenny Rogers, They Don’t Make Them Like They Used To (1986)
8. "Holly Rock" -- Sheila E., Krush Groove (OST) (1985)
9. "Baby, You’re a Trip" -- Jill Jones, Jill Jones (1987)
10. "The Glamorous Life" -- Sheila E., The Glamorous Life (1984)
11. "Gigolos Get Lonely Too" -- The Time, What Time Is It? (1982)
12. "Love… Thy Will Be Done" -- Martika, Martika’s Kitchen (1991)
13. "Dear Michaelangelo" -- Sheila E., Romance 1600 (1985)
14. "Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me?" -- Taja Sevelle, Taja Sevelle (1987)
15. "Nothing Compares 2 U" -- The Family, The Family (1985)

Originals will be available for streaming exclusively on Tidal starting June 7 -- coinciding with that would have been the artist's 61st birthday -- before Warner Bros. Records releases the tracks for purchase and download on June 21.

Check out the video below for more on Prince's posthumous legacy.


Prince to be Celebrated With a Symphonic Tour Later This Year

Prince's Re-Released Music Catalog Now Available on All Streaming Services

Sheila E. Reveals the Prince Song That's Been The Hardest to Play Since His Death

Related Gallery